ICFO- Instituto de Ciencias Fotónicas

Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO)

Av. Friedrich Gauss, 3, 08860, Castelldefels, Barcelona

climate change, climate, quantum computing, energy, physics, nanoscience, new materials
Alina Hirschmann
Head of Scientific Communication at ICFO

If you are the contact person for this centre and you wish to make any changes, please contact us.

SMC participants

Director of the Attoscience and Ultrafast Optics group

Head of the Research Group at the Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO)

Contents related to this centre
Nobel Prize

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023 to Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus, and Alexei I. Ekimov "for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots." Quantum dots are tiny nanoparticles that diffuse their light from televisions and LED lights, and can also guide surgeons when removing tumor tissue, among many other applications.

nobel física 2023

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier for developing "experimental methods generating attosecond light pulses". These advances made it possible to observe the motion of particles in atoms on the shortest time scale captured by humans. An attosecond is a unit of time equivalent to one trillionth of a second, roughly the time it takes light to travel the diameter of an atom.