DIPC Donostia International Physics Center

Donostia International Physics Center

Pº Manuel de Lardizabal 4, 20018 Donostia / San Sebastián

astrophysics, quantum computing, physics, nanoscience, new materials, chemistry, supercomputing
Nora Gonzalez
DIPC Outreach and Communications Director

If you are the contact person for this centre and you wish to make any changes, please contact us.

SMC participants

Ikerbasque Professor of Physics at the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC)

Researcher at the Max Planck for Chemical Physics of Solids in Dresden (Germany) and at the Donostia International Physics Center in Donostia-San Sebastián

President of the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC) Foundation and Professor of Condensed Matter Physics at the University of the Basque Country (UPV - EHU).

Contents related to this centre
Peter Higgs

The 'father' of the Higgs boson, British physicist Peter Higgs, died on Monday at the age of 94 at his home in Edinburgh (UK), according to a statement released today by the University of Edinburgh. Higgs was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2013, along with François Englert, for having predicted in 1964 the existence of a new particle, the so-called Higgs boson. This particle was confirmed almost half a century later by experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider.

nobel física 2023

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier for developing "experimental methods generating attosecond light pulses". These advances made it possible to observe the motion of particles in atoms on the shortest time scale captured by humans. An attosecond is a unit of time equivalent to one trillionth of a second, roughly the time it takes light to travel the diameter of an atom.


For the first time, the IceCube collaboration team has found evidence for high-energy neutrino emission from NGC 1068, an active galaxy 47 million light-years away with a supermassive black hole. The finding, made with the detector located under the Antarctic ice sheet, is published in the journal Science.


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics to Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser and Anton Zeilinger for their experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell's inequalities and becoming pioneers in quantum information science.